“THE COMPETITION AND TREASURE HUNTING OF 2018.”

my future plane

The year is 2018.

After my first transatlantic flight in my plane, Sabrina and I land in Italy for my second European Bicentennial Wrought Iron Exhibition Contest in Tuscany.

South of Florence, in the small town of Stia, every other year blacksmiths from all over the world come together to show off or compete with a theme that they only found out about a month before.

It has been a few years since Sabrina and I shared our late 10th wedding anniversary.

We will be able to spend it at the contest with shopping in Florence, just after going full-time with Lato A.C.D. resellers that July of 2013.

Stia blacksmith

The blacksmith contest in 2015 was my first. I had thought that after being a full-time artist and resale buyer for two years would allow me to be ready for it.

 However because of the crazy craft fairs and civil war schedule, Sabrina had me working and providing the storage auction inventory for our 15,000 square foot warehouse, knowing my home was sometimes a challenge.

It was fun and I did learn a lot. We also found the time to study art in Florence and taste wine in Chianti. Something we could only dream about in 2013.

chianti italy

Now back to 2018.

We are finally fluent in Italian and we have Italian friends that we keep in contact with on social media and try to talk to on Skype at least once a month.

It will  be nice to finally meet them and to have their support at the blacksmith contest in Stia.

milan fasion weekWe were planning on staying with an Italian friend, but my sister and mom decided to tag along with us, so we rented a villa in Chianti.

Stephen Michael II, Rosalie, and John Luther are going as well, so it will be a great trip. My brother might meet us in Milan.He is there visiting his niece.

Sabrina’s dresses will  be on the catwalk, so I probably don’t have any chores.

It’s not like it’s her first fashion show, and she has another designer from Italy showing them for her.

mercatosantospirito

We will be in Florence’s Santo Spirito Antique Flea Market after my exhibition, before heading off to Milan to meet my brother and see Sabrina’s dresses.

 We will go twice. Once to film a YouTube video for you to see which treasures you love, and the second time to purchase the treasures for you.

 If you see something you would love to own, we have a wish list, and for some of you, we will go hunting for your special treasures. If we have time we will go to San Lorenzo Market, but no promises. 🙂

stephen blacksmith pic with anvil and cigar

If there is any part of my dreams and goals within this post that you would love to know more about, please share it with me in the comments section.

You may just inspire my next post or even influence the business plan that I am in the process of writing.

Love Always

Stephen Mark Lato

Leave a Reply

